Local Sports

Sonshine 98.9 Hands Out Postseason Awards


Sonshine 98.9 gives out their inaugural post-season awards for the Field Kindley High School girls' and boys' basketball teams.


Four awards were given out to each team. For the Lady Nado, Aubriona Noblitt received the Sharp Shooter Award, Most Improved went to Brooklyn White, Rya Hightower won Defensive Player of the Year and Taiylor Caron was named Player of the year. Caron was also named to the Second-Team All-SEK and Chaunte Porter was named to the Honorable Mention Team. Head Coach Anita Walker says there were a number of things this team accomplished they hadn't done in the last ten years.


The Nado boy's award recipients include, Jo Jo Hernandez receiving the Sharp Shooter Award, Zac Becker named Most Improved, Defensive Player of the Year goes to Jamarrion Logan and KeShawn Hayes winning Player of the Year. Logan was named to the All-SEK Honorable Mention team. Head Coach Griff Walker says he is a hard critic of the team but he wants the team to be ready for any obstacle that comes in their way.


A link to the awards presentation can be seen here.




Listen Live