Forgot Password

Not a Member? Sign up here!

Local Sports

Viets, Herring Named to All-SEK Teams


The All-League teams for the Southeast Kansas League for both boys and girls basketball have been announced.


The Field Kindley boys had two players make it to two of the three teams announced. Senior Ethan Viets was named to the All-Second team and Senior Caden Herring was an honorable mention. Independence Junior Easton Ewing, Labette County Senior Eli Hestand, Pittsburg Sophomore Mason English, Chanute Senior Kam Koester and Parsons Junior Jessie Jones were announced as the All-First team. Joining Viets on the All-Second team is Labette County Senior Alex Meister, Parsons Senior Paxton Swanson, Fort Scott Senior Collin Thomas and Pittsburg Junior Jackson Turnball. Pittsburg Junior Hayden Murphy was also an Honorable Mention.


The All-First team for the girls includes Fort Scott Sophomore Keegan Yarick and Senior Harmony Shaw, Labette County Seniors Madison Brannin and Anna Dean and Parsons Freshman Eliana Valentin Florence. On the All-Second team are Parsons Sophomores Sydney Schibi and Iniya Hinman, Fort Scott Junior McKenzie Murphy and Senior Abby Altic, Chanute Sophomore Peyton Shields and Pittsburg Sophomore Jacqueline Hall.


Boys Coach of the Year was Pittsburg Head Coach Jordan Woods and girl Coach of the Year was Fort Scott Head Coach Pechone Stepps.

Listen Live