Forgot Password

Not a Member? Sign up here!

Local News

General Election Results for State and Local Elections


Montgomery County will have a new County Commissioner.  Republican challenger Mike Cordray defeated Democratic incumbent Fred Brown in yesterday’s election.  Cordray garnered 63.6% of the votes to Brown’s 36.3%.  The actual vote count was 2,030 for Cordray to 1,157 for Brown.


In Wilson County, Republican incumbent Joe Newland defeated Democrat Mark Pringle with a margin of 3,191-653 for a State House seat. Also, Republican Jack Lucke received 1,792 votes in the County Sheriff race to beat Democrat Harold Kuhn who received 1,241 votes.


In other elections of local interest for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by long-time Senator Pat Roberts, Republican Roger Marshall defeated Democrat Barbara Bollier by a 53 to 42% margin.  In the U.S. House, race for the 2nd District, State Treasurer from southeast Kansas, Jake LaTurner defeated Topeka Mayor Michelle De La Isla by 55% to 41%. 


As was the case in the rest of the nation, heavy voter turnout was reported in Montgomery County partly on the strength of over 4,000 advance voting ballots.

Listen Live