Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Local News


The Independence City Commission has reorganized itself following last November's elections, including swearing in a new commissioner and electing a new mayor and vice mayor.


New commissioner Dean Hayse took his oath and office and will serve a four-year term expiring in 2024. Louis Ysusi, the previous Mayor of Independence, was reelected this past November for a two-year term. After the swearing in, the new commission unanimously elected Leonhard Caflisch to the position of mayor and Hayse to the position of vice mayor. Caflisch has previous experience as the Mayor of Independence.


The commission also declared the Independence Daily Reporter as the official newspaper for the city and Community National Bank as the official city depository. The schedule for meetings in 2020 was also approved, with the commssion electing to continue to hold meetings on the second and fourth Thursday of each month.

Hide Comments

LinkedUpRadio Envisionwise Web Services